Upgraded your account but later decided to change your plan? Miro allows you to switch to another solution that will fit your needs best. Feel free to proceed whenever you wish - the content of your boards will not be affected!
The instructions below will help you to:
- switch from Team plan to Consultant or Business
- switch from Consultant or Business plan to Team
- downgrade to Free plan
- upgrade to Education plan
✏️ Find more details about Miro plans in Plans and features available and Understanding Miro plans and pricing.
✏️ Visit this page if you'd like to switch from monthly to annual payments.
Switching from Team plan to Consultant or Business plan
The option to change plan in Billing settings
Choose a plan in the pop-up menu and click Upgrade.
At this moment, you will start a new billing period which means that your renewal date will change. Having changed your plan, you will need to pay a new invoice. Please note that the proration for unused time on the previous (Team) plan will be applied to the purchase and deducted from the new invoice.
For example, on June 1, you purchased a yearly 5-seats Team plan and paid $480. Two months later (on August 1) you decide to switch to a Business plan (the number of seats does not change). At the moment of the switch, you need to pay for the new 5-seats plan which costs $960. However, the proration for 10 unused months on the Team plan ($400) should be deducted from the purchase. It means that the amount on the new invoice will be 960 - 400 = $560. Your renewal date will move from June 1 to August 1.
If you pay by card, you will be charged immediately. Users on self-serve invoicing will receive a new invoice.
Switching from Consultant, Business plan to Team plan
If you'd like to switch from Consultant or Business plan to Team plan, please reach out to Miro Support. Since the downgrade flow hasn't been automated yet, there are few manual steps that need to be done on your and our side. Please note that, due to security reasons, we can apply the changes upon the Admin's request only.
Downgrading to Free plan
⚠️ Note that you can downgrade an expired team only.
If you wish to downgrade your team to Free plan, you first need to cancel your subscription in the Account Settings > Billing > Overview. You may rest assured that once the subscription is canceled, there will be no further charges (unless an Admin reactivates the subscription). You'll be able to use the paid features until the end of the paid period. At the end of the paid period, the account will expire (will be paused in a view-only mode).
When the subscription expires, click Choose your plan in the notification on the dashboard and click Downgrade on the pop-up.
Downgrading to Free plan
⚠️ After downgrading to the Free plan:
- your boards that are not shared with the whole team will be locked as board privacy is a paid feature. To unlock such boards share them with your team. Here's how you can do that
- only three most recently created boards will be active - the rest of the boards will be paused in a view-only mode
Upgrading to Education plan
Apply here if you'd like to get access to free Education plan (for staff members and students of educational institutions only). Once your application is approved, you will receive an email notification.
If you're a student and an admin for one Miro team with 10 members (or less), the team will be converted to Education plan. If you're a teacher and an admin for one Miro team with 100 members (or less), the team will be switched to Education plan. In other cases, a new Education team will be created in your profile (you will find it on the left sidebar of your dashboard and will be able to move your boards to it).