Who can do it: Board owners
Which plans: Starter, Business, Enterprise, Education
Which platforms: Browser, Desktop, Mobile
If you're starting an individual project or want to work on a board before sharing it with your team, you can create a private Miro board or make an existing shared board private.
Understanding private boards
Private boards are boards that aren't shared with anyone and are only accessible by the board owner. This feature is available on the Starter, Education, Business, and Enterprise plans.
On the Free plan, all boards created within a team are visible to all team members. You can see who is on your team in your Team settings on the Active users tab. If you want a private board on a Free plan, you must be the only member of that team.
Manage board privacy
You can create a new board with private access from the start or change the settings of an existing board to make it private.
Create a new private board
To ensure a new board is private from the moment of its creation, follow these steps.
-
For Admins: Set default sharing settings (optional). If you are a Team or Company Admin on a Starter, Business, Enterprise, or Education plan, you can set all new boards to be private by default.
- Go to Team settings > Permissions > Sharing settings.
- Under Default settings for board sharing, choose Only board owner can access.
Default sharing settings
-
Check the board's location. Before creating your board, make sure you are in the Boards in this team section of your dashboard. If you create a board within a shared space, the board will automatically be shared with all members of that space.
✏️ If you have a private space that isn't shared with anyone, you can safely create your board there.
-
Confirm privacy settings. After creating your board, open the Share dialog. Here you can verify if the board is shared with your team. If it is, set the team's access level to No Access.
Removing team access to a board
Make a shared board private
To make an existing board private on a Starter, Business, Enterprise, or Education plan, you must remove access for all collaborators. Open the Share dialog and stop sharing the board at every level:
- Set team access to No access.
- (On Enterprise) Set Company access to No access.
- Disable any public link (set to No access).
- If the board is in a space, move it out or unshare the space.
- Remove all individual users listed under Sharing settings until only you (the owner) remain.
✏️ If you are not the board owner but need to make a board private, you must invite your own email address to the board before removing team, space, or company access. If you fail to do this, you will lose access to the board as soon as you change the sharing settings.
Setting a shared Miro board to private
You can always check who has access to your board in the Share window.
FAQ
The Free plan doesn't allow private boards. Please share the board with your team to unlock it. More information is in this article: The board is locked.
On the Free plan, it is shared with the entire team by default. It only relates to your boards being "shared with the team" within your Free team.
Miro strives to keep public boards from being indexed by search engines like Google or Bing. However, anyone with the link can access these boards, and the link might be shared beyond your intended audience. Depending on your Miro plan, you can enhance security by setting a password for your public board.
Yes, you can move your Miro boards.
Yes, if this is allowed in your board content settings.
No, visitors will be able to access the board for free. Learn how you can share your boards publicly.