Sync and visualize content across boards, keeping it seamlessly connected and up-to-date.
Available for: Business, Enterprise, Education
Key features
- Seamlessly connected - Embed live widgets like frames, documents, or diagrams directly into multiple boards and documents. Keep everything consistent with real-time updates.
- Enhanced efficiency - Save time by reusing content across platforms, so you can focus on collaboration and creativity without the hassle of repeating tasks.
An example of synced content on a board
How to create a synced copy
Copy / paste between boards
To sync content across boards, copy one Widget from one board, paste in another, then confirm Replace with synced copy.
Copying and pasting between boards
Via the widget context menu
To create a synced copy:
- Select a single widget.
- Open the three dots (...) menu and select Copy and Sync.
- Navigate to the destination board and paste (cmd/ctrl + V).
This option also allows you to create synced copies of the same board.
Editing Synced Widgets
⚠️ Synced copies are view-only for everyone. To change the copy content, users have to modify the original content.
The synced copy is a standalone board widget.
Users with editing access can change its position, scale, add to Frames or Docs, and group with other widgets.
Comments made on a synced copy are only visible on that specific copy and don't appear on the original widget or any other synced copies.
Navigation and copies management
Both the original widget and its synced copies have a list of copies in the context menu. It helps with navigation between copies and with opening the original widget to edit the content.
To navigate to the copy/original widget:
- Click on a synced widget to select it.
- In the contextual menu, click on the arrow icon to open the list.
- Click on any item to open a board in a separate tab or move to the widget on the same board.
Permissions
The creation of Synced copies is available for users with a Miro profile and visitors with editing access. If you only have viewing or commenting access, you’ll need to sign up for a Miro account and gain editing permissions to create synced copies.
⚠️ If a user doesn't have access to the board containing the original Widget, they won't be able to see the Synced Widget anywhere else.
Make sure to give the right users permission to see the original content.
Frequently asked questions
Whoever you share the board with needs to have access to the original widget to see any synced copies.
Synced Widget are indicated by a purple selection border. Editing the original widget will change other instances within 10sec interval.
Currently, the original board permissions are used to check the user can see the synced content.
All the synced copies stay, however, users will see the message “The original content was deleted”.
By default, changes in original content are translated to copies within 10 sec with no extra actions from the user. Otherwise, user sees the error message instead of outdated content.