Meet the simplest way to invite anonymous Guest Editors - now even users without a Miro profile can contribute to your work on boards free of charge! Once you make a board accessible for anonymous Guest Editors, anyone with the board link can immediately start editing the board content. You can share the link with as many Guest Editors as you need.
In this article:
- Why invite Guest Editors?
- How to enable access for Guest Editors
- How it works for you
- How it works for Guest Editors
- Guest Editors vs. Day Pass users
- Frequently asked questions
Why invite Guest Editors?
Use this feature to organize remote meetings (such as PI Planning or sales demos), brainstorming sessions, and workshops with partners or colleagues who either don't have a Miro account yet or don’t have access to your Miro team.
How to enable access for Guest Editors
1) Open the board’s Share menu.
2) Choose Can edit in the drop-down menu of Anyone with the link option. Set a password if you need to additionally protect your board content.
3) Copy the link, send it to your team, partners, or clients, and immediately start the collaboration! Anyone who joins with the link (and enters password if it is enabled) can create and edit the board content, add comments, upload files.
✏️ Public boards are not indexed by search engines.
⚠️ Every user on the board (including all previously added viewers and commenters) will be able to edit its content.
⚠️ The option to choose Can edit is not available on Free plan - you can only choose Can view.
Sharing a board with Guest Editors
Guest Editors on a board
How it works for Guest Editors
Guest Editors can edit board content, add widgets, upload files, leave comments, etc. Note that some functionality is not available for them.
Guest Editors can't:
- Change board name
- Change board sharing settings
- Access team dashboard
- Access any boards except for the board(s) shared with them via a public link
- Mention others in comments
- Start Video chat/Screen sharing/Voting session
- Create, edit or add Asana, Jira, Microsoft Azure, or Rally cards from the cards picker (however, they will be able to view them)
- Download board backup
- Lock/unlock objects on the board (Locked objects are also uneditable)
- Receive any board notifications
- Access Activity list and restore board content
- Save the board link to Google Drive
- View on object info
- Edit boards in a browser on mobile
- Copy board content if this is not allowed in board content settings
- Duplicate, export a board, and download board files if they're not registered with Miro or if this is not allowed in board content settings
- Bring collaborators' view to their view
✏️ Board owners on the Team, Consultant, Business, Enterprise, and Education plans can configure board content settings and define whether Guest Editors can duplicate the board to their workspaces, download files/images/PDFs pasted on the board, copy widgets, export the board as an image/PDF.
- Apps that allow anyone to add visuals to the board, i.e. icons, images, stickers, tables and charts
- Apps that allow anyone to participate in group activities, i.e. Planning poker and ice breakers
- Google image
- Wireframe Library
- Tables and Charts
- Cisco Network Topology Icons
- AWS Architecture Icons
- Microsoft Azure Icon Set
- User Story Map
- Planning Poker
- Adobe XD
- unDraw Symbols
Guest Editors have access to your board as long as it's public.
Guest Editors vs. Day Pass users
|Day Pass users||Guest Editors|
|Need to sign up/sign in||No need to sign up/sign in|
|You can control who exactly can access your board and know who makes which changes||Anyone with the link (and password if it is enabled) can access your board.
No knowledge of who edited your content
|Perfect for sharing confidential information||All board content is shared publicly and available for changing by anyone with the link (and password if it is enabled)|
|Occasional users can have access to a team
or to particular boards shared with them
|Guest Editors have access
to a particular public board
|Available on Consultant, Business, Enterprise plans||Available on Team, Consultant, Business, Enterprise, and Education Plans|
|$3 per user on Consultant, Business plans||Free|
Public access to a board gives you the opportunity to immediately start a collaboration session with all people who have the board link, so feel free to invite Guest Editors for a workshop or a brainstorm session.
Use Day Passes for a short-time work on a specific private project as Day Passes allow you to give access to your content to a particular registered user and revoke the user's access at any moment.
Frequently asked questions
- I don't have Anyone with the link option on the board Share menu. Why?
- On Enterprise plan, Company admins can forbid public sharing due to security reasons.
Please note that sharing for public editing is not supported on Free plan.
- My Guest Editors cannot access the board via the link I have shared with them. How can we proceed?
- Please make sure that you chose Can edit next to Anyone with the link option and sent the board link copied from the board Share menu or from the browser address bar, it should have the following format:
If the issue persists, ask the users to open the board in another browser or Incognito mode. Please note that Guest editing is not supported on mobile.
- Will my Guest Editors receive an email invitation?
- No, Guest Editors should not be invited to boards explicitly via email. You simply need to share the board publicly, copy the board link, and send it to your future guests. Anyone with the board link will be able to edit its content unless you stop sharing the board publicly.
- Is a new board link generated when I share the board publicly?
- No, it's always the same board link that can be copied on the Share menu or in the browser address bar.
- How do I stop sharing my board with Guest Editors?
- Open the board Share menu, choose No access (or another access level) next to Anyone with the link option.
- How many Guest Editors can access my board at the same time?
- It is early for us to say that everyone's experience will be seamless if you go over 300 collaborators. Learn more on this page.
- I have sent the link to a user so that they could join my board as a Guest Editor, but they had to sign up and now they're on my team members list. Why?
- You must have sent the Board and Team invite link instead. Remove the user in Account settings > Active users, decrease the team size, copy the board link as shown here and send it to your collaborator.