Miro is a hub for your team, where you can visualize, share and collect ideas. You can use Miro Free plan as long as you want, with as many people as you need!
When registering a profile, you can create your own free team or join existing teams where you've been invited to or which are discoverable for you.
If you're already a member of someone's team but would like to create your own team, you can
- leave the teams you're a member of. Once there're no teams left in your profile, you will be suggested to create your own free team
- create a new team by clicking the plus icon on the left sidebar of your dashboard. Note that creating a new free team is only possible if you're not a member of any other Miro team
Learn more about team and user management on Free plan in this article.
✏️ Free plans include limited Miro AI functionality. To unlock the full potential of Miro AI Workflows, including Flows and Sidekicks, upgrade to a Business plan. For more information, see AI Workflows on Free plan.
Unlimited team members
We believe in teamwork, and want to provide the best experience for teams to collaborate without any boundaries or limits. All invited users are automatically added to your team and get access to all boards (no private boards are allowed on Free plan).
All team members can:
- create their own boards
- view, comment, or edit all active boards (depending on the decision of the board owner)
- upgrade the team
- use all features of the Free plan
- invite other members if this is allowed in Team settings
⚠️ Every user that you invite to your boards via email on Free plan gets added to your team.
If you're a Team Admin, you can remove users from your team at any moment. To learn more about team management, check out this article.
Board access on Free plan
Please note that if you invite other users to collaborate on your Free plan, you are granting access for them to view all of the boards on your dashboard. All boards created in a free team get automatically shared with the whole team. Board privacy within a team is only supported on paid plans.
Board limits on Free plan
Free teams can have up to 3 active boards. Team members can view, comment, or edit all 3 (depending on the board owner's settings). There's no need to share boards individually, since everything in a free team is visible to the whole team.
Once your team has 3 boards, you won't be able to create a new one until you delete an existing board or upgrade your team. If your team already has more than 3 boards, for example, from before this limit applied, or after downgrading from a paid plan, the extra ones beyond your 3 most recent stay locked in a view-only mode. You can unlock them by deleting other boards, duplicating them, or upgrading.
✏️ If your team includes 3 boards only but they're still locked, check out this article.
If your team has already reached 3 boards, trying to create a new one results in an error. You cannot create a new board until you upgrade or delete one of your existing boards.
AI Workflows on Free plan
Miro AI Workflows include Sidekicks and Flows. Sidekicks are your specialized AI collaborators on every Miro board. Flows enable you to automate tasks in multi-step workflows that instantly generate Formats, like Tables, Mindmaps, and images.
A Free plan has limited access to Sidekicks, and includes 5 Flow runs per team member.
To unlock the full scope of AI Workflows, upgrade to a Business plan.
Upgrade your Free plan
Upgrade your free team to any of our paid plans to get access to advanced Miro features. If you're a small team that would like to get access to more cool collaboration features, choose our Starter plan.
✏️ Free and Starter plans include limited Miro AI Workflows functionality. Start a 14-day Business trial to experience the full scope of AI Workflows, including Flows and Sidekicks.
Free plan vs Starter plan
| Free plan | Starter plan | |
|---|---|---|
| Max number of team members | ∞ | ∞ |
| Max number of boards | 3 | ∞ |
| Max number of private boards | ✘ | ∞ |
| Visitors who can edit public boards | ✘ | ∞ |
| Visitors who can comment on public boards | ✘ | ∞ |
| Visitors who can view public boards | ∞ | ∞ |
| Spaces | ✘ | ✔ |
| Manual backup | ✘ | ✔ |
| Screen sharing | ✔ | ✔ |
| Hi-res export | ✘ | ✔ |
| Custom templates | ✘ | ✔ |
| Video chat | ✘ | ✔ |
| Jira Cards | ✘ | ✔ |
| Jira Add-on | ✘ | ✔ |
| Voting | ✘ | ✔ |
| Timer | ✘ | ✔ |
| Asana Cards | ✘ | ✔ |
| Confluence Plugin | ✘ | ✔ |
| Advanced attention management | ✘ | ✔ |
| Password protection for public boards | ✘ | ✔ |
| Board content settings | ✘ | ✔ |
| Advanced board sharing permissions | ✘ | ✔ |
| Board versions | ✘ | ✔ |
Downgrading to Free plan
After downgrading to Free plan all private boards become inactive. They won't affect the limit of the active boards available. If a private board is within 3 board limitation you can share it with the team to enable editing, or upgrade.
Frequently asked questions
- Yes. Unless you invite new users to the team created by you or to your boards, only you have access to your content. You can see the list of your team members and remove them in Team settings > Active users.
- No, those are always the 3 most recently created boards. You can delete unnecessary ones that belong to you (or ask other team members to delete their boards), duplicate inactive boards, or upgrade your team.
- Yes, you can. Though all boards in a free team can be accessed by all team members, you can downgrade team access to viewing only: open the board's Share dialog, choose Can view for team access to the board. Note that if you're not the board owner you should be explicitly invited to the board as an editor - otherwise, your access will be limited as well.