A team in Miro is a collection of boards and projects created by team members. The ability to set up multiple teams is one of the core features of Consultant and Enterprise plans. Both the plans come with built-in team privacy: users from team A are not able to see team B on the dashboard, even though both teams are under one Consultant/Enterprise plan umbrella.
Since each of the multiple teams is created for particular people or with a specific purpose, Miro ensures each team can be configured according to its needs. The advanced team management in Miro enables account Admins to filter and manage all teams and team users in one place, set up apps and integrations available for the team, and manage users' permissions.
In this article:
- Teams management overview
- Team profile
- Managing team users
- Apps & integrations in the team
- Permissions in the team
- Team privacy
1. Teams management overview
If you click Teams in the User & Team management solution, you will see a list of current teams within the account. There is additional information on how many users and boards each team has, and the number of Day Passes used. You can also create new teams on this page.
As an Admin, you can see and manage the teams created within your account
2. Team profile
In the Team profile, you can edit the team name, upload the team logo or delete your team.
Team profile in Miro
3. Managing team users
If you click on a particular team, you will be redirected to the Users tab and will see the full list of users within the team: their roles, permissions, number of teams they are part of, etc. Feel free to use bulk actions, search, and filtering options. You can also add new team members here.
Filter the list of Team users and apply changes in bulk
If you click the 3-dots menu next to a team member, you will see the options to edit their info, change their role or delete them from the team.
Actions with Team users in the Team Members list
By clicking Edit user info you will open a dialogue box showing the user's activity recap, their team membership, etc. In this box, you can add the user to a team or remove them.
User info dialogue box
4. Apps & integrations in the team
To be able to get as much value out of Miro as possible, a team might need to have a specific array of applications and integrations available. At the same time, access to some applications might need to be restricted on the team level due to different reasons.
In Apps & Integrations you can enable or disable integrations that have been set up for the team.
Apps & Integrations in Miro team settings
Under Installed apps, you can allow or restrict non-admins to install apps and view the list of applications installed from Miro Marketplace.
Installed apps in Miro team settings
By clicking on an application, you will see application details and the option to uninstall the application for the whole team.
Application details in Miro team settings
5. Permissions in the team
You can select the Team signup mode, Invitation settings and Sharing settings that meet your needs and policies most of all.
For a detailed guide on Team signup mode, you may look into our article Managing Team Discovery and Access. Enterprise plan admins can configure Team discovery settings.
Invitation settings enable you to determine who can invite users to the team and choose whether you need non-team collaborators in the team.
Team Invitation settings
It is also possible to set up default Sharing settings of the team newly created boards and projects.
Board sharing settings for the team
Admins can configure default board content settings for a team.
Board content settings
6. Team privacy
Available for: Enterprise Plan
✏️ Consultant plan has in-built team privacy which cannot be disabled
It might be important for teams under an Enterprise account umbrella to stay invisible to each other. Team privacy mode can be enabled in Company settings > Security > Team privacy. Once the option is enabled, the account members are not able to see the teams they're not part of in the Account Settings and the option to share boards with the entire company gets disabled.
Setting up team privacy on Enterprise level