The Miro migration process ensures the secure consolidation of all your organization’s teams under a single Enterprise domain. Learn about the Miro Enterprise migration process, and read essential information about what happens before, during and after migration.
Relevant for: Enterprise Plan
Who can do it: Company Admin
Migrating your teams
Miro provides Enterprise Plan customers the option to move any self-serve and free teams owned by their domain to their Enterprise account. Teams will be migrated as they are, including:
- All boards (in their current state at the time of migration)
- All users, their roles and access rights
- Project structure
- Apps (if allowed in the target Enterprise company settings)
✏️ Teams migration is free for Enterprise Plan. Custom migration add-ons are also available. For details, contact your Miro sales person.
Benefits of migrating teams
- Take ownership of boards created within teams outside of your organization.
- Ensure utmost security by consolidating usage and content to be governed by your Enterprise security settings.
- Allow your users to collaborate more effectively and take advantage of Enterprise features
- Minimal user impact as the team structure stays intact. Uses can collaborate as they did before, but now with additional Enterprise Plan features.
The migration process
⚠️ Before Miro can legally migrate content to your Enterprise instance, you must verify your company domains via Domain control.
- Set up Domain control. Once domain verification is complete, you can work with your Miro contact person to start the migration process.
- Request a domain audit within your Company settings > Managed domains. The report will provide you with full visibility of teams created by your enterprise domain users, as well as users that have a Miro profile under your enterprise domain.
- Review the domain audit data provided by Miro and decide on the migration strategy together with your Miro contact person.
- The Miro team will run a pre-check to determine if the account settings need to be changed to successfully process the migration. The Company Admin will need to resolve any pre-check errors in order to move forward.
- If you are using SSO, remember to add new users to your IdP before the scheduled migration time. This will ensure they can log in via SSO after the migration.
- To submit a migration request, you’ll need to align on the migration date with your Miro contact person, communicate to your teams the anticipated end-user changes, and ask them not to use Miro during the scheduled migration time.
The Miro migration process
Although Miro will remain accessible during the migration, it is important to advise your users against using Miro at the time of migration. There is no expected impact on Miro's functionality; however, editing boards while they are being moved may cause you to lose your latest changes. It is safer to wait until the migration is finished before using Miro again.
The migration time will vary based on the number of teams, users, and boards involved and can range from a few minutes to several hours. Following the migration, the Miro team will send a confirmation that the migration has been successfully completed and provide a post-migration report detailing the process and any necessary changes or updates. This ensures that you are fully informed about the migration's outcome and any necessary next steps.
- After the migration is complete, you will receive confirmation and a post-migration report from the Miro team.
- Review the post migration report and validate that the teams were migrated.
- If you are using SSO, validate that migrated corporate domain users are able to login via SSO based on Active Directory.
- Update team permissions if needed (default team settings are applied to the team post migration). If you have a large number of teams, you can update their settings using the Update team settings API. If you need assistance with the API, please reach out to Miro support.
For Company Admins
- Company Admins will see the newly added teams within their Enterprise account under Company settings > Teams.
- All newly added users will appear under Active users in Company settings.
- We recommend that company admins inform their team admins of any changes to team permissions.
For end users
- Users may experience a change in the login flow if SSO is enabled.
- Users will see their team(s) appear with a house icon, indicating it is now part of the Enterprise account.
- Users will have access to all Enterprise Plan features.