Who can do it: Team members, Team admins, Content admins, Company admin
Which plans: Starter, Business, Enterprise
Which platforms: Browser, Desktop, Mobile
A custom Blueprint is a Space template pre-made for specific types of projects and workflows. A custom Blueprint can include boards, Formats, or any Miro resource tailor-fit to your needs.
A Custom Blueprint has all the boards and Formats you need for a specific goal.
Create and manage a Custom Blueprint as a reusable template for your design process, delivery process, rollout, or quarterly planning, for example. You can create and save a Custom Blueprint to your organization, team, or personal library.
You can also save an existing Space into a custom Blueprint.
To learn more about Blueprints in general, see Blueprints.
Discover Custom Blueprints
You and your team can find all Custom Blueprints under Custom templates in the template picker.
The template picker now includes Custom Blueprints created at the personal, team, and company levels.
Save a Space as a custom Blueprint
- Create a Space, or open an existing Space from Home or by URL.
- In the sidebar, next to your Space's name, click the vertical three-dots (Options).
- Click Save as Blueprint.
The Save as Blueprint modal opens. - Name your Blueprint.
- Specify a default Sidekick if your team has created its own Sidekicks.
- Specify access and permissions.
-
If you are a Company admin, you can tick Mark as official to share your Blueprint outside your team, with the entire organization.
💡 Learn more about how to Create a Custom Blueprint at company level.
- Click Save template.
Your Custom Blueprint is now available under Custom templates in the template picker. If you created a Custom Blueprint the team level, then anyone in your team can find your Custom Blueprint in their template picker.
Share a custom Blueprint
- From Home, click + Create > Explore templates.
The template picker opens. - On the left under Custom templates, click [Your team] templates or [Your company] templates.
- Hover over the Custom Blueprint you want to share, and click Preview.
- In the upper-right, click Copy link to share.
NOTE: Custom Blueprints saved to your personal library cannot be shared or moved to team or company libraries.
Edit a custom Blueprint
- From Home, click + Create > Explore templates.
The template picker opens. - On the left under Custom templates, click [Your team] templates, or Personal if your Custom Blueprint is shared with only you.
- Hover over the Custom Blueprint you want to edit, and click the three-dots (...).
-
Select Edit.
TIP: From the team or personal template picker, you can also hover over your Custom Blueprint and click Preview, then Edit template.
The Custom Blueprint opens from the first board in the Space with the sidebar open. A blue banner indicates that you are editing, and that changes are automatically saved.
- Edit your Custom Blueprint. For example, add sections in the sidebar, or update existing boards and Formats. To learn more about managing Spaces, see the Spaces guide.
- In the blue banner, click Stop editing.
You return to your Home dashboard. All changes to your Custom Blueprint are saved. No changes are shared with anyone already using the template.
NOTE: Company admins and Content admins can edit Custom Blueprints created at the company level.
Delete a custom Blueprint
- From your Home dashboard, click Explore templates.
The template picker opens. - On the left under Custom templates, click [Your team] templates, or Personal if your Custom Blueprint is shared with only you.
- Hover over the Custom Blueprint you want to delete, and click the three-dots (...).
- Click Delete.
Your Custom Blueprint is deleted.
NOTE: Company admins and Content admins can delete Custom Blueprints created at the company level.
Create a custom Blueprint at company level
Starter and Business plans
In Admin Console under Security > Sharing, the option Restrict sharing of company templates is turned off by default. Anyone in the organization can optionally create their Custom Blueprints for the entire company.
Admins cannot change this setting.
Company admins and Content admins can create, edit, and delete Custom Blueprints created at the company level.
Enterprise
By default, only Company admins and Content admins can create Custom Blueprints at the company level. Users must request that you save their Space as a Custom Blueprint at the company level.
As Company admin, you can (Enterprise) Enable users to create Custom Blueprints at company level.
Company and Content admins can create, edit, and delete Custom Blueprints created at the company level.
Enable Enterprise users to create custom Blueprints at company level
By default, users on an Enterprise subscription cannot create Custom Blueprints at the company level. As Company admin, you can change this setting.
For Enterprise, users are unable to create Custom Blueprints at the company level by default. Company admins can change this setting.
Follow these steps:
- As Company admin, go to Admin Console.
- Go to Security > Sharing.
- Under Roles and permissions, toggle Restrict sharing of company templates to the off position.
Anyone in the organization can now create a Custom Blueprint at the company level.
NOTE: You can toggle Restrict sharing of of company templates back on anytime. Changes impact Custom Blueprints created after your toggle restriction on or off.