Available for: Team, Business, Consultant, Enterprise, and Education plans
Set up by: account members
Standardize processes and avoid wasting time duplicating efforts by creating and sharing custom templates.
There are three access levels for custom templates: Personal, Team, and Company.
Personal templates are visible to their creator only.
Shared with the team templates are available to every team member.
Shared with the company templates are shared across all teams within the account (available for Enterprise plan only).
💡 Any user who created custom templates can change the sharing level of their templates from Personal to Shared with the team and vice versa. This can be done when creating a new custom template or editing an existing custom template.
In this article:
- Creating a custom template
- Editing or deleting custom templates
- Company templates
- Frequently asked questions
Creating a custom template
There are three different ways for you to save a custom template.
1. Select a group of objects, click the three dots on the context menu, and choose Save as template.
Save as Template option in the context menu
2. Choose the Save board as template option in the Export this board menu. The whole board will be saved as a template.
Save as Template option in the Export menu
3. Use the Create template option in the template picker. A new tab will open and you will be able to create a new custom template.
Create template button
To save the template click Save and Exit in the upper-left corner.
If you click the name of the template (New template by default) there will be an option to change the name of the template, add a description, change access rights and select preview area.
Custom Template details
Make it easier for team members to identify important templates by setting custom thumbnails. You can select the preview area in two ways:
- Selecting a preview area from the board by clicking Select preview area text,
- Uploading an image from your device by clicking on the image area.
✏️ Custom templates are saved to the library of the team to which your current board belongs. If you save your custom template in one team, you won't be able to access it in another team unless you create it there separately.
You can see all personal and shared custom templates in the corresponding section on the picker. The template creator's name and profile picture is shown on the template card.
Custom templates on the template picker
Editing or deleting custom templates
To edit or delete a template, use the context menu in the template picker. These options are available for the Template owners and for Company Admins with Content Admin permissions on Enterprise plan.
Edit and Delete buttons in the template picker
💡 In the edit mode, you can also change a template's sharing settings. Click the template name in the top-right corner to open the settings.
✏️ Please note, when your paid subscription expires, the custom templates won't be available until you prolong the subscription. Templates that have already been inserted to the board will stay intact.
Available for: Enterprise plan
On Enterprise plan, Company Admins are able to share a custom template with the entire Company so that users from all the existing and future Teams can utilize them.
Create a new template as described in the corresponding paragraph and choose access rights in the template menu: Personal, Shared with the team, Shared with the company.
Choosing access rights when creating a template
Users with other roles (non-admins) can see Share with the company option, but to create a template shared with the company, they have to invite Company Admin on their board and ask them to create a Company template out of it.
Notification for non-admins
Templates shared with Company will be available under the Shared section of Custom templates in the template picker. They are shown first in the list and have a COMPANY tag on them.
Company templates with a tag
Frequently Asked Questions
- Can I share my custom templates with other users?
- If you are on a paid plan you can share your template with your team or with your organization (if you’re an Enterprise plan user) via the template picker. You’ll simply need to let them know what it’s called and it will be discoverable in Shared templates and via the search bar.
- Can I share my board as a template via a link?
- Yes, with the correct Board Content Settings, now anyone can make a copy of your board without needing edit access, just a link. Open the board Share menu > Sharing settings > Permissions and allow anyone with the board access to copy the board content (note that the menu is available on paid plans only; the option is enabled and non-configurable on boards on Free plan). Then share the board for public viewing.
After sharing a board link the Viewer can now go to the board where the option to duplicate the board can be found.
- Can I import another user's template to my Miro?
- Simply select and copy the template and paste it on your own board or duplicate the template board to your own team and save it as a template. Note that the option to copy the content and board may be restricted by the Board owner.
- How can I delete a template?
- Open the template picker, switch to Custom templates, find your template, click the three dots and choose Delete. Note that only Template owners and Company Admins with Content Admin permissions on Enterprise plan can delete templates.
- How can I see which templates are used the most often and if people are using our custom templates?
- Company Admins on Enterprise plan can see how many times Miro, Miroverse, and/or custom templates have been used at your company in the past year and 30 days in the Admin Insights panel. Learn more.