Enterprise plan invitation controls allow you to define the range of members that should be able to invite new users to your plan.
Available for: Enterprise plan
Set up by: Company Admins
Team invitation settings
Invitation settings are configured in the Permissions section of every team. Company Admins can set up who can invite new users to the team:
- Company Admins only
- Company Admins and Team Admins
- All team members
Team invitations settings
Admins can also allow or forbid inviting guests - users invited to particular boards but not to the team itself. Such users can access the boards shared with them but cannot create new assets in the team. Additionally, Company Admins can configure automatic deactivation of all guests.
If guests are not allowed and non-admin users can't invite new members to a team, non-admin users will get the following pop-up when trying to share a board with a user that is not a member of the team. Depending on the organization's request management settings, the user will be able to send the invitation request to Company Admins or specific email addresses or create a service desk ticket. Learn more about Enterprise Request management.
Notification showing that you cannot invite guests and new members
If a user who is not allowed to invite new members tries to grant an owner or co-owner role on a particular board to a user who is not a member of the team, they'll see the same pop-up and will also be able to submit a request to Company Admins or specific email addresses or via a service desk.
A similar notification is shown when a non-admin user tries to invite an external user to edit a board while guests with edit access are not enabled for the team and the option to invite new members is available for Admins only. After submitting the request, the invitee will be added to the board with comment access.
Notification showing that you can't invite a user to edit the board
Company invitation settings
Company invitation settings control who can add new licenses to the Enterprise subscription by inviting new members to their team. Access the Company invitation settings from Company settings > Security.
Company invitation settings
If the Company Admin restricts the company invitation settings to Company Admins only, no one else except Company Admins can add new licenses. Team Admins and members can only invite existing members from the company (they cannot activate new licenses).
The Company Admin can allow Team Admins to invite new members. In this case, Company Admins and Team Admins can add new licenses.
If the Company Admin allows all members to invite new members to the organization, every member of the Enterprise plan can add new licenses by inviting people to their team if this is allowed in the Team invitation settings.
Company settings complement Team invitation settings. Company Admins decide from the Team settings, who can invite users to a specific team. This means that Company Admins can allow Team members and Team Admins to manage team invitations and collaboration but licenses are controlled by Company Admins. In Team settings, it is also visible who can invite new users to the organization:
Team invitation settings on Enterprise plan. Based on the Company settings, only Company and Team Admins can add new licenses. At the same time, all members of the team can invite other members who are already a part of the Enterprise organization
Automatic deactivation of guests
Set up automatic deactivation of guests after 30 days of inactivity by going to Company settings > Security > Collaboration settings and toggling on the option to automatically deactivate board guests. The setting is configured in Company settings for all teams within the organization.
If the toggle is enabled and users who are listed as guests in Company settings (regardless of their domain) do not perform any activities in your Enterprise teams within 30 days, they will be automatically deactivated. Use this feature to de-provision guests and keep the plan clean and secure.
The option to automatically deactivate inactive guests
As soon as a Company Admin enables/disables the toggle, the action is recorded in Audit logs as "Enabled/disabled external users expiration setting". Deactivation events will also be logged in Audit logs. The actor will be shown as “undefined”.
Note that, at the moment, it is not possible to customize the 30-day period.