Board owners can protect their boards shared by link with a password to ensure secure access by the intended group of people only.
When you enable access for Anyone with a link (Public access), click on the Set password button, enter a secure password (8+ symbols), and press Set. The password will be copied to your clipboard.
Setting a password on a board shared by link
When the password is set, all guest users have to submit a password to open a protected board. Users don't have to re-enter the password for 72-hours.
The embedded boards can be opened in a separate browser tab after submitting a password. Users who were invited to the board directly or have access via team/project sharing don't need to enter the password to open the board. Users who can share the board will see that it is protected with a password in the sharing window, but won't be able to change it.
Board owners on self-serve plans, and board owners and Company Account Admin on the Enterprise Plan (if Content Admin permissions are enabled) can change or disable the password at any time by clicking on the Edit password button. Changing the password will revoke access to the board for anyone who used the old password to open the board.
Disabling sharing via a public link doesn't reset the password. It means that if the board is shared by link again, guest users will be able to access it with the same password that has initially been shared with them.
Viewers, commenters, and editors who are collaborating on the board at the moment when the password is changed, immediately lose their access to the board.
⚠️ Please note that since we don't store passwords, you'll need to change it if you forget it.
In smartphone apps, we currently only indicate if the board is protected with a password. The ability to set a password or access a protected public board on mobile remains in our backlog.