Miro boards provide different levels of access: viewing, commenting, and editing. Read the article to learn more about each type of permissions and the way you can manage user access.
In this article:
- Setting up access rights
1.1 Board owner
- Board access request
- Board access levels
- Changing access rights
- Transferring the ownership to another board collaborator
- Frequently asked questions
Setting up access rights
Whenever you share a board via the Share window, you can specify access rights by choosing Can edit, Can comment, or Can view.
Sharing a board with a Commentor
Board owner rights
There can be only one Board owner. Unlike any other board user, the board owner can
- move the board between accounts
- download board backups (on paid plans)
- delete the board
- hide frames, use protected lock (on paid plans)
- configure board content settings (on paid plans)
Admins can delete all user's boards by removing the user from the account. On Enterprise plan with Content Admin permissions enabled, Company Admins can manage and remove other users' individual boards.
Editors get full access to all the tools on the board - they can make changes to the content, delete or upload new files.
Team editors who were explicitly invited to boards via email or have access to the board because they are part of a project or team in Miro can edit access rights of other members and add new collaborators.
⚠️ Visitors' rights on boards are limited - find more details on this page.
Viewers can't make any changes to the board, they can only see its content. Their toolbox only displays the zoom and map options, while the tools on the toolbar are not available. Registered Viewers can join video chat or voting sessions and see the running timer.
If there are frames on the board, Viewers can see the options to switch between them as well in the frame panel.
Board access request
If you follow the board link and see this message, it means that the board is not shared with you yet:
Requesting access to the board
💡 To view, comment, or edit board, click Request Access. This will send an email message to all Editors on the board on Free, Team, Consultant, Business, Education plans and to the Board owner only on the Enterprise Plan. They will be able to provide you with access and define your access rights.
If the board is shared with you but with viewing or commenting rights only, you can request editing access using the button in the top right corner. Please note that this feature is not supported on the Education plan.
Requesting editor rights
Board access levels
Boards in Miro can be shared on different levels:
- board (when you invite specific users via email)
- team (note that all boards are always shared with the whole team on Free plan)
- project (not available on Free plan)
- Company (available on Enterprise plan only)
You can see with whom your board is shared and configure all the access levels on the board Share menu:
If a board is shared on different levels, the level with higher access applies to a user. Please see an example: a team member is invited to a board via email as a Commenter; however, the board is shared with the whole team with editing access. In this case, the team level access applies to the user and they can edit the board.
Changing access rights
To edit access rights of explicitly invited collaborators on the board:
- Click on the Share button in the top-right corner.
- Open Sharing settings. You will see the list of people who have access to the board.
- Specify access rights for a chosen user by clicking on the drop-down lists which state their current access rights. Here you can also remove collaborators. The Board owner will also see the option to make another user the Owner of the board (thus signing away the ownership)
- Confirm the change by clicking Done.
Please note that if the board is shared via other means (with the whole team, a project, with Company, or publicly), the user whose rights have been degraded may retain the previous level of access via team/project/Company/public sharing.
The Board owner is changing access rights for an existing collaborator
Transferring board ownership to another board collaborator
o transfer the ownership of the board the owner-to-be should be a member of the team where the board belongs and be specifically added to the board via Temail/Slack (be on the list of the collaborators).
When you confirm ownership transfer, you will not be able to undo this action.
1. Invite the user to your board via email/Slack
2. Click Sharing settings on the board Share menu
3. Choose Is owner on the user's menu and confirm your action
Transferring board ownership to another team member
Frequently asked questions
- I removed a user from my board but that user is still present on the board. How do I stop the user's access?
- The user who is not invited directly can still access your board if it is shared via other means (team/project/Company/public access). Please check board sharing settings and remove the access.
- How do I create a private board?
- Please see here.
- How do I check who is the Board owner?
- The Board owner's name is visible on the board information card. Note that your access level may not be enough to see this information. However, if you received an invitation to the board, you can also see the inviter's name in the notification.
- I created a board but the board does not belong to me anymore. How did I lose the board ownership?
- Admins can remove team members and assign their boards to themselves or other Admins. On Enterprise plan with enabled Content Admin rights, Company Admins can reassign boards of other users.
You can find the board link in your browser history or Miro emails, follow it, and request access. If the board was deleted by the Admin, you may ask the Admin to restore it within 30 days from the deletion date.
- How do I transfer my board out of a team?
- You can move your board to another team if you're a member of several teams. If you're not, you can create your own team.
- Can I transfer my board to a user who is not a member of my team?
- No, you can only assign board ownership to your team members. As a workaround, the user can create a copy of your board in their own team (please make sure that this is allowed in the board content settings). The person should be a registered Miro user and a member of another team.
- Can Viewers/Commenters/Editors copy board content and download files uploaded on the board?
- This can be allowed or restricted by the Board owner/co-owner in the board content settings. Note that on Free plan, the option to copy board content is enabled by default and non-configurable.