If you start an individual project or would like to work on a board before sharing it with your team or clients, here is how you can create a private Miro board or set a shared board to private.
What is a private board?
Private boards are not shared with anyone and accessible by the board owner only.
On Free plan, all boards in a team are visible to all team members. You can see your team members in Team settings on the Active users tab. If you want to create a private board in a free team, you need to be the only member of the team.
How to create a private board
Who can do it: Team and Company Admins. If you’re not the Admin, please scroll down to Step 2.
If you're the Admin, you can configure default sharing settings for newly created boards.
- Go to Team settings > Permissions > Sharing settings.
- Choose Only board owner can access under Default settings for board sharing. You can also configure Project sharing settings there.
Default sharing settings
Make sure the board will not be created in a shared project. If the board is located in a project, it automatically gets shared with all project members. Thus, before creating a board, switch to Boards in this team tab to ensure that the board will not get into a specific project.
✏️ If you have a private project (not shared with anyone), feel free to create your board there.
Switching to all boards in the team on Miro dashboard
If you're not the Team Admin or haven't configured default sharing settings as mentioned in Step 1, open the Share menu of your newly created board and check the board settings. Here you can see whether your board is shared with the whole team and choose No Access if it is.
Removing team access to a board
How to set a shared board to private
Relevant for: Starter, Consultant, Business, Enterprise, and Education plans
To make your existing board private, make sure to stop sharing it on different access levels: with the team, Company (if you're on Enterprise plan), publicly, with a project, and with particular users by unselecting them in Sharing settings on the Share menu. You will have to remove each user until it only shows you (the owner) and ensure you have No access next to each sharing option on the Share window.
If you're not the board owner and have access to the board via team/project/company, please make sure to invite your own email to the board prior to the change. Otherwise, you will lose access to the board as soon as you remove team/project access.
Setting a share Miro board to private
Note that on Free plan you cannot stop sharing a board with the team.
You can always check who has access to your board on the board Share window.