Learn how to convert team members to Guests if you’d like to continue collaborating with users outside your core function or project.
Guests can collaborate with you only on boards shared directly with them. They don’t have access to your team's shared content and can’t create new boards in your team. Learn more about collaboration with Guests.
You can convert a Team Member to a Guest if you want to limit their access to your team boards and projects. They’ll still be able to see boards shared with them explicitly over email.
Who can do it: Company Admins
- Go to Company settings > Active users.
- Click the three dots next to a member.
- Choose Change to guest.
Changing a Member to Guest
As soon as the user is converted to a Guest, they are removed from the subscription and will release a seat (license). Learn how to remove extra seats.
If the user owns any boards, the boards will be reassigned to the corresponding Team Admins. The user will still have access to any boards they were invited to over email.
Team dashboard of a Guest user
Who can do it: Team Admins
On Starter Plan, if a user is a trial member you can convert them to a Guest in Team settings > Users.
Otherwise you cannot convert members to Guests on Free or Starter plans. Instead you can delete the user from the team and invite them again as a Guest.
1. Go to Team settings > Users > Delete from team.
✏️ When you remove a member, you also release a seat (license). If you don’t plan to use it again, you can always reduce the number of seats in your plan.
💡 If you prefer to give a user editing access without inviting them to the team, you can share the board for public editing.
Removing user access to a team
2. Now you can invite the user to specific boards. Open the share settings, enter the user's email address, and select Can view or Can comment from the dropdown. They’ll appear as a Guest in your Users list.
Inviting a guest on Starter or Education plan