Managing your team's workflow on a single board sometimes gets a bit challenging. Activity List is our take on tracking and evaluating the input that every teammate adds to your projects.
No matter what access rights you have on the board, you can always check the latest changes made to it in the Activity List. To open it, click the Activity List icon on the toolbar in the bottom left-hand corner. If you open the board that somebody edited while you were away, you will see a small blue dot on top of the icon indicating new changes.
Activity icon on the toolbar
At the bottom of the Activity List, you can enable and disable highlighting changes. You can switch between the options as many times as you want. If you choose to highlight changes, you will be automatically redirected to the most recently modified object on the board.
Show highlighting on changes
The board changes are arranged in date order and grouped by user. All changes are recorded in the user's local time. There are 3 categories of changes that you will find included:
- adding and duplicating content
- editing content
- deleting content (including the Undo actions).
If you're looking to pin down a particular action, you can scroll down the list and look through the edits' content - all text changes are shown as references below the action's name (if it's a frame, the Frame's name will be displayed).
Clicking a record on the list, you will be automatically redirected to the corresponding object on the board and zoom in to view the change in detail (except for Delete records).
Click an event to jump to an updated object
In pursuit of content optimization in every regard, we have limited the list to always displaying only the most recent change - if you modify one object several times, all the previous modifications will be erased from the list.
Whatever you are working on at the moment, all board objects, including Comments, and uploaded files will be registered and tracked in real time right after you exit the Edit mode - no need to re-open the menu or refresh the board. An exception is moving objects - you will not find any records of that on the list.
To close the Activity List panel, simply click the same Activity List icon once again or click Close on top of the panel.
✏️ All changes on the board made by your collaborators while you were offline are also highlighted in pink. You will see the name of the team member who added/modified objects on the board and the time the updates were made. Click Hide highlighting on changes at the bottom of the screen to remove it.
Highlighting changes on the board
Board content restoration functionality exists in Miro to make sure accidental content deletion doesn’t get in the way of your team productivity. Board editors can easily restore objects recently deleted from their boards.
⚠️ The feature is not available for guest editors.
Users can restore:
- Any content deleted from the board during their current active session and 30 minutes after the content was deleted in case the session is over
- The last 1000 objects deleted from the board – if the restoration occurs more than 30 minutes after the content was deleted
- Any content deleted from the board if the objects were selected and deleted simultaneously for an indefinite period of time – until the next 1000 objects are deleted
To restore deleted objects, open Activity List and click Restore – the deleted objects will reappear on the board (exactly where they were before being deleted), and the board will zoom in to that part of the board.
Restoring a deleted object
⚠️ Please note, there will be edge cases when:
- content will be restored to a different part of the board (e.g. when a connection line is restored and the sticky note it was attached to was repositioned on the board)
- content will lose its connection to the object it was linked to initially (e.g. when a card is deleted from a grid, and then restored – it will be restored to the same part of the board but will not be attached to the grid anymore)
- certain content will not be restored. Current limitations include:
- lines that were connected to objects deleted from the board later
- text from grid cell if it was removed from a grid (if the grid was deleted together with the text, it will be restored)
- User Story Map (both the framework and the cards)
As a rule, if objects were deleted and then restored simultaneously, all links within this batch will be restored as well, but there is a chance that links to external objects outside the board will not be restored.