When you invite a new member to your team and you've already used all the seats (licenses) in your plan, an extra seat is added. Learn what to do if you've accidentally added a seat and have unexpected billing charges, or if you think you've been double billed.
⚠️ Over the next several months we’re gradually rolling out our new Business plan and migrating our existing Business plan users. If you purchased the plan recently, you may already have access to the new Business plan functionalities. Learn more about the new Business plan and how to check which version you’re currently on.
What to do if you’ve accidentally added seats
If you’ve added an extra seat and haven’t been billed yet
Remove the extra seat (license) before your next billing date. To do this you first need to remove the user, and then remove the extra seat.
You will only be charged for the number of days you used the extra seat.
1. Remove the user
2. Remove the extra seat(s) from your plan
The prorated amount for the unused time goes to the subscription balance and applies towards the next purchase. Learn more about how we calculate the prorated cost for new seats on monthly and yearly plans.
If you’ve added an extra seat and you’ve already been billed
If you notice an increased charge on your recent billing, or you've received an additional prorated bill for extra seats, first follow the steps above to remove the extra seat(s) from your plan.
If you remove the seat after your billing date there is no immediate refund - any unused time is credited to your next bill. Learn more about how we calculate the prorated cost for new seats on monthly and yearly plans.
How to avoid accidentally adding extra seats
You can always invite additional users to your board without adding extra costs. Check out our options for adding visitors and guests.
If you’re an admin, you can make sure users don’t accidentally add extra seats when inviting users to a board in your invitation settings.
✏️ If you’re still facing issues, contact support. We can only share billing-related information with Miro Admins or the user who purchased the subscription. If that’s not you, reach out to your Miro Admin for help.